Home Support Volunteer

Hands Down! Our Volunteers Are The Best!

Group 2017

More than 2,900 Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System volunteers were celebrated at the 27th Annual Volunteer Recognition Program held at the Central Library during National Volunteer Week. Library volunteers donated 73,597 hours of service in 2016 valued at $1,733,945.32. Millennium, Top Hours and Twenty-Five Year Service Award recipients, pictured above, were among the volunteers recognized for their service.

The Harriet Macklin Adult Volunteer of the Year Awards were given to Joyce Kramar, a Milton Library volunteer and to Dr. Maria Mickens, Friends of the Adamsville/Collier Heights Library President. Gigi Mitchell won Youth Volunteer of the Year for her diligence as a Southwest Library summer volunteer. Karen Swenson, Reference Librarian and Volunteer Liaison at the Northeast/Spruill Oaks Branch, received the Staff Award for Effective Work with Volunteers.

This annual event is a formal thank you to our fabulous, dedicated volunteers. Volunteers received Five, Ten, Fifteen, Twenty and Twenty-Five Year Service Awards.  Recognized for serving over 1,000 hours in one-year were Top Hour Volunteers, Emmett Brantley, III from the Dogwood Library, Carol Harrison from the Friends of the Roswell Library and Gerrie Fornek President of the Friends of the Alpharetta Library. Twenty-three young volunteers received the President's Volunteer Service Award for outstanding hours served in 2016.

Adult Volunteer of the Year Joyce Kramar 2017

Milton Library volunteer Joyce Kramar won one of the Harriet Macklin Adult Volunteer of the Year awards because she continuously exhibited a strong dedication and love of volunteering. This award was presented in memory of dedicated library volunteer and Friends' President Harriet Macklin by Ms. Macklin’s sisters Julie Dixon, Shirley McDade and Vivian Reid. Pictured left to right are Gerard Reid; Vivian Reid; Julie Dixon; Joyce Kramar; Dr. Gabriel Morley, Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System’s Executive Director; and Paul Kaplan, Chairman of the Library’s Board of Trustees. 

Gigi Mitchell       Karen Swenson 5.3.17

Gigi Mitchell won the Youth Volunteer of the Year Award, pictured left. Karen Swenson won the Staff Award for Effective Work with Volunteers.